OpenJS World 2021 is a free, fully virtual event! We encourage you to watch the speaker sessions, and then join the speakers on Slack to ask questions and discuss their talks in dedicated Q&A sessions. See below to learn when and where to connect!

Anyone can join the OpenJS Foundation slack at slack.openjsf.org »

Schedule for June 3, 2021

TrackSession TitleSpeaker(s)Slack Channel
00:00 - 00:20 PDT 09:00 - 09:20 CEST
PerformanceLightning Talk: Event Based Communication in Complex Micro-service Architecture - Sapna Upreti & Prabal Raghav, NodeXperts (a Unit of Successive Technology)Sapna Upreti, NodeXperts#openjs_world-performance
01:00 - 01:20 PDT 10:00 - 10:20 CEST
Automation(Ͼ˳Ͽ)...Check-my-repo!!! - Paloma Oliveira, Sauce LabsPaloma Oliveira, Sauce Labs#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityWhat is Open Source? - Tobie Langel, UnlockOpenTobie Langel, UnlockOpen#openjs_world-community_building
SecurityWebpackage is Probably One of the Greatest Opportunities to Make the Web More Secure and Reliable - Vladimir de Turckheim, DatadogVladimir de Turckheim, Datadog#openjs_world-security
01:20 - 01:40 PDT 10:20 - 10:40 CEST
AutomationAutomation as a Core IT Principle - Jean Burellier, Euler Hermes (Allianz Group)Jean Burellier, Euler Hermes (Allianz Group)#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityWhat is Open Source? - Tobie Langel, UnlockOpenTobie Langel, UnlockOpen#openjs_world-community_building
SecurityMaster Production-grade Best Practices to Build your Node.js Docker Images - Liran Tal, SnykLiran Tal, Snyk#openjs_world-security
02:00 - 02:20 PDT 11:00 - 11:20 CEST
AutomationFighting Covid with Serverless and JavaScript - David Gonzalez, NearFormDavid Gonzalez, NearForm#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
DevelopmentNode.js Deep Debugging - Gireesh Punathil, IBM IndiaGireesh Punathil, IBM India#openjs_world-development
02:20 - 02:40 PDT 11:00 - 11:20 CEST
DevelopmentNode.js: The New and the Experimental - Bethany Griggs, Red HatBethany Griggs, Red Hat#openjs_world-development
02:40 - 03:00 PDT 11:40 - 12:00 CEST
DevelopmentThe Phantom of the App: Background Services - Maxim Salnikov, MicrosoftMaxim Salnikov, Microsoft#openjs_world-development
06:00 - 06:20 PDT 15:00 - 15:20 CEST
AutomationKubernetes for Everyone - Sendil Kumarn, UberSendil Kumarn, Uber#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityWeb Monetization and the Future of Advertising - Briana Marbury, Interledger FoundationBriana Marbury, Interledger Foundation#openjs_world-community_building
DevelopmentCrafting Bespoke PWA experiences with Angular - Mark Thompson, GoogleMark Thompson, Google#openjs_world-development
06:20 - 06:40 PDT 15:20 - 15:40 CEST
AutomationInternet of Things (IoT) with Node: Both Practical and Fun! - Jesse Gorzinski, IBM & Michael Dawson, Red HatJesse Gorzinski, IBM#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
DevelopmentCrafting Bespoke PWA experiences with Angular - Mark Thompson, GoogleMark Thompson, Google#openjs_world-development
CommunityResponsible Coding for a Better Future - Lucile Jerber & Stephane Rodet, IBMStephane Rodet, IBM#openjs_world-community_building
GeneralUnlocking High Performing Teams with Open Source - Tracy Miranda, Linux FoundationTracy Miranda, Linux Foundation#openjs_world-general
06:40 - 07:00 PDT 15:40 - 16:00 CEST
AutomationWrap WebdriverIO to Build your Test Framework - Soumya Mukherjee, APTY.IOSoumya Mukherjee, APTY.IO#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
DevelopmentOne Source to Rule them All - John Niedzwiecki, Disney Streaming ServicesJohn Niedzwiecki, Disney Streaming Services#openjs_world-development
CommunityWeb Monetization and the Future of Advertising - Briana Marbury, Interledger FoundationBriana Marbury, Interledger Foundation#openjs_world-community_building
07:00 - 07:20 PDT 16:00 - 16:20 CEST
AutomationWrite Great Code, in the Cloud - Linda Nichols, MicrosoftLinda Nichols, Microsoft#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
DevelopmentNode.js Deep Debugging - Gireesh Punathil, IBM IndiaGireesh Punathil, IBM India#openjs_world-development
GeneralJavaScript Powered Smart Home With (Almost) No Code - Joel Lord, MongoDBJoel Lord, MongoDB#openjs_world-general
07:20 - 07:40 PDT 16:20 - 16:40 CEST
CommunityPanel: Node.js Package Maintenance Working Group: Year 3 - Glenn Hinks, American Express; Bethany Griggs, Red Hat; Darcy Clarke, Github; Dominykas Blyze, NearForm; Rodion Abdurakhimov, Aspire GlobalGlenn Hinks, American Express#openjs_world-community_building
07:40 - 08:00 PDT 16:40 - 17:00 CEST
AutomationFighting Covid with Serverless and JavaScript - David Gonzalez, NearFormDavid Gonzalez, NearForm#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
08:00 - 08:20 PDT 17:00 - 17:20 CEST
PerformanceDemystifying Database Performance Issues with sqlcommenter - Jan Kleinert & Bala Chandrasekaran, GoogleJan Kleinert, Google#openjs_world-performance
AutomationWrap WebdriverIO to Build your Test Framework - Soumya Mukherjee, APTY.IOSoumya Mukherjee, APTY.IO#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
08:40 - 09:00 PDT 17:40 - 18:00 CEST
AutomationDeveloper Workflow Automation with GitHub Actions (CI/CD) - Brian Douglas, GitHubBrian Douglas, GitHub#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
GeneralJavaScript Powered Smart Home With (Almost) No Code - Joel Lord, MongoDBJoel Lord, MongoDB#openjs_world-general
11:00 - 11:20 PDT 20:00 - 20:40 CEST
AutomationInternet of Things (IoT) with Node: Both Practical and Fun! - Jesse Gorzinski, IBM & Michael Dawson, Red HatMichael Dawson, Red Hat#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityTake the Leap into Open Source Projects - Tim Lai, SmartBear SoftwareTim Lai, SmartBear Software#openjs_world-community_building
DevelopmentShiver My Timbers! A Recipe for Migrating Libraries to ECMAScript Modules - Benjamin Coe, GoogleBenjamin Coe, Google#openjs_world-development
GeneralNotebooks in VS Code - Tanha Kabir, MicrosoftTanha Kabir, Microsoft#openjs_world-general
PerformanceObserving Node.js: Using Metrics to Improve your Application Performance - Guilherme Hermeto, NetflixGuilherme Hermeto, Netflix#openjs_world-performance
SecurityPackage Vulnerability Management and Reporting Collaboration Space for OpenJS World - Darcy Clarke, Github & Wes Todd, NetflixDarcy Clarke, Github#openjs_world-security
11:20 - 11:40 PDT 20:20 - 20:40 CEST
CommunityWhat is Open Source? - Tobie Langel, UnlockOpenTobie Langel, UnlockOpen#openjs_world-community_building
GeneralTesting EcmaScript Modules - David Mark Clements David Mark Clements#openjs_world-development
Securitysecure.AllTheThings() - Make Security Accessible to Everyone! - Christian Bromann & Justin Dolly, Sauce LabsChristian Bromann & Justin Dolly, Sauce Labs#openjs_world-security
11:40 - 12:00 PDT 20:40 - 21:00 CEST
AutomationIntegrating Containers in JavaScript - Lucas Santos, MicrosoftLucas Santos, Microsoft#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
GeneralCloud Native Landscape for Node.js Developers - Upkar Lidder, IBMUpkar Lidder, IBM#openjs_world-general
CommunityPanel: Node.js Package Maintenance Working Group: Year 3 - Glenn Hinks, American Express; Bethany Griggs, Red Hat; Darcy Clarke, Github; Dominykas Blyze, NearForm; Rodion Abdurakhimov, Aspire GlobalDarcy Clarke, Github#openjs_world-community_building
SecurityWebpackage is Probably One of the Greatest Opportunities to Make the Web More Secure and Reliable - Vladimir de Turckheim, DatadogVladimir de Turckheim, Datadog#openjs_world-security
12:00 - 12:20 PDT 21:00 - 21:20 CEST
AutomationIntegrating Containers in JavaScript - Lucas Santos, MicrosoftLucas Santos, Microsoft#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityResponsible Coding for a Better Future - Lucile Jerber & Stephane Rodet, IBMStephane Rodet, IBM#openjs_world-community_building
DevelopmentBuilding Modern Native Add-ons for Node.js in 2021 - Kevin Eady, Hive Streaming & Gabriel SchulhofKevin Eady, Hive Streaming & Gabriel Schulhof#openjs_world-development
12:40 - 13:00 PDT 21:40 - 22:00 CEST
AutomationUI Automation with WebdriverIO and Cucumber: a Robust, Modular BDD Framework - Olga Smolyar, InterSystemsOlga Smolyar, InterSystems#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
13:00 - 13:20 PDT 22:00 - 22:20 CEST
AutomationUI Automation with WebdriverIO and Cucumber: a Robust, Modular BDD Framework - Olga Smolyar, InterSystemsOlga Smolyar, InterSystems#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityJavaScript the Grumpy Parts - Rob Richardson, @rob_richRob Richardson, @rob_rich#openjs_world-community_building
DevelopmentUpgrading to Fastify 3 - Austin Akers, MicrosoftAustin Akers, Microsoft#openjs_world-development
GeneralUnlocking High Performing Teams with Open Source - Tracy Miranda, Linux FoundationTracy Miranda, Linux Foundation#openjs_world-general
13:20 - 13:40 PDT 22:20 - 22:40 CEST
AutomationDeveloper Workflow Automation with GitHub Actions (CI/CD) - Brian Douglas, GitHubBrian Douglas, GitHub#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
CommunityJavaScript the Grumpy Parts - Rob Richardson, @rob_richRob Richardson, @rob_rich#openjs_world-community_building
DevelopmentMaking Capacitor Flux with NativeScript and an Ionic Friend - Nathan Walker, nStudio LLCNathan Walker, nStudio LLC#openjs_world-development
13:40 - 14:00 PDT 22:40 - 23:00 CEST
PerformanceSafely Handling Dynamic Data with TypeScript - Ethan Arrowood, MicrosoftEthan Arrowood, Microsoft#openjs_world-performance
AutomationShifting-left and Right to Test a web app with CI - Nikolay Advolodkin, Sauce LabsNikolay Advolodkin, Sauce Labs#openjs_world-automation_ci_cd
GeneralBuilding Strongly Typed REST Clients with Typescript - Jose Manuel Heredia Hidalgo, MicrosoftJose Manuel Heredia Hidalgo, Microsoft#openjs_world-general